Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble
Thu, Mar 21, 2019 - 8:00pm
Fri, Mar 22, 2019 - 8:00pm
Sat, Mar 23, 2019 - 8:00pm
Sun, Mar 24, 2019 - 3:00pm
Actors Fund Arts Center
160 Schermerhorn St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
United States

$30; $25 for students/srs


The Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble presents "I'm not here to be polite" taken from Anna Sokolow's remark "I'm not here to be polite, I'm here to tell the truth!". Veteran Sokolow dancers Francesca Todesco, Eleanor Bunkier, and Luis Gabriel Zaragoze, will be joined by a new generation of Sokolow dancers in the choreographer's renowned 1968 "Steps of Silence," and a reconstruction of her "Three Poems," created in 1973 for theJuilliard dancers. Eleanor Bunker will dance Valerie Bettis's famed dramatic solo "The Desperate Heart," created in 1943; director Jim May will be represented by his romantic duet "Sleeping Bouquet," danced by Todesco and guest Daniel Fetecua. Guest choreographer is Robert Cleary, who was invited to set his provocative "This is Not America" for the Sokolow dancers.