The Princess Grace Awards is one of the most important awards a dancer can receive. Princess Grace of Monaco spent much of her life supporting emerging artists. After her death in 1982, Prince Rainier of Monaco put together a group of people to create a set of awards in her honor, and the tradition still continues today.

In 35 years, the Princess Grace Foundation has awarded over 800 theater, dance, and film artists. Previous dance winners include Talli Jackson, Isabella Boylston, Robert Battle, Tiler Peck, and David Hallberg.

This week, the Foundation announced their winners for 2017. They are:


Jacqulin Harris
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Mikaela Kelly
Julliard School of Dance

Miriam Miller
New York City Ballet

Gian Carlo Perez
The Washington Ballet

Lyvan Verdecia
Ballet Hispanico of New York


Bryan Arias
Charlotte Ballet

Gemma Bond
The Washington Ballet

Raja Feather Kelly

If you're interested in applying for the 2018 grant cycle, visit their website